The PRI Awards 2020 winners have been announced.

Where the Leaders’ Group assesses the breadth of signatories’ excellence, the PRI Awards recognise individually excellent projects conducted by signatories of all sizes, specialisms and levels of development.

Signatories were invited to nominate projects across four categories: ESG incorporation, stewardship, ESG research and real world impact. We have also presented an award to the best project submitted by a signatory headquartered in an emerging market. Entries were assessed for innovation and impact by an independent panel of judges.

The PRI Awards are a great opportunity for all signatories to learn from each other’s successes, as all the winning and shortlisted case studies have been published on the PRI website.

Categories and criteria

Signatories were invited to submit a case study in one of the four categories for consideration by the judges, who scored each entry according to category-specific criteria:

  • Stewardship project of the year
  • ESG incorporation initiative of the year
  • ESG research project of the year
  • Real world impact initiative of the year

Download the judging criteria

As well as these four categories, we have also presented an Emerging markets initiative of the year award to a signatory headquartered in an emerging market. The shortlist for this award was comprised of the highest-scoring qualifying entries in the other four categories.

Before being scored by the judges, each entry was screened against the general criteria. Only entries that meet these criteria were considered for an award.

Entry process

The PRI Awards 2020 entry deadline has now passed. The entry process was as follows:

The PRI executive screened the entries against the general criteria (see Terms and Conditions below). In late May, the entries were passed to a panel of judges, who scored them against detailed, category-specific criteria.

The judges’ scores were used to create a shortlist for each of the four categories (stewardship project of the year, ESG incorporation initiative of the year, ESG research project of the year and real world impact initiative of the year). In addition, we created a separate shortlist for the Emerging markets initiative of the year, comprised of the highest-scoring entries from signatories headquartered in emerging markets, as defined by MSCI.

The winners were the highest-scoring entries in their categories.


Terms and conditions

The PRI and the judges will assume that anyone entering the awards has read, and agrees to, the following terms and conditions.

1. All entries must be submitted in English.

2. Winning and shortlisted case studies will be published on the PRI website once winners have been announced; therefore entrants should ensure that all information in the case study is suitable for the public domain.

a. The PRI reserves the right to edit case studies for accuracy of written English and for clarity before publishing them.

b. In the event that we edit your entry, we will share the final version with you before it is published.

c. If at any point you inform us that you do not wish your entry to be published, or that you wish to substantially edit the original content before it can be published, the PRI reserves the right to remove your entry from consideration.

3. In the event that an entry is successful, the project/entry name and organisation name(s) submitted through the entry form will be used on the shortlist and/or trophy. Therefore please ensure that you are happy with the wording and spelling of these fields.

4. All entries to the awards must meet the general criteria:

a. Entrants must be signatories to the PRI. Signatories who are currently on the PRI’s engagement list, or who are added to the engagement list in 2020, will not be eligible to enter.

b. There is a limit of one entry per signatory, and a signatory may only submit an entry in one category. If an organisation submits more than one entry, the PRI will ask our main contact at that organisation to choose one entry for submission to the judges.

c. The judges will consider collaborative projects where 50% or more of the participants are PRI signatories and where the person submitting the entry represents a signatory organisation. You must obtain the permission of all participants before submitting the entry.

d. A collaborative project must be entered as a whole. The activities of one or more participating organisations as part of a project, for example a collaborative engagement, will not be considered in isolation. You must obtain the permission of all participants before submitting the entry.

e. Case studies must be projects – with start and end points and measurable objectives – as opposed to business as usual activities (which are captured by the PRI Reporting Framework).

f. The awards are open to both ongoing and completed projects. To be eligible, completed projects must have been completed no earlier than 1 May 2018.

5. Any entry not meeting the general criteria will be screened out by the PRI and will not be submitted to the judges. At the screening stage, the PRI’s decision is final.

6. With respect to criterion 4(b):

a. We strongly advise signatories to select their preferred entry before submitting any entries.

b. In the case of collaborative entries, we will classify each entry as “belonging to” the signatory who submits it.

c. If we receive multiple entries from one signatory, we will email our main contact from that signatory and ask them to select their preferred entry.

d. There will be a strict timeframe of one week for responding to these requests. If we do not hear from you within one week, we will submit the first eligible entry we received from your organisation to the judges.

7. The judges will assess and score all eligible entries against the category-specific criteria, which are available on this website.

8. The judges’ decision is final in all cases.

9. The categories will be split between judges in order to reduce the burden on judges’ time.

b. All entries in a particular category will be scored by the same judges wherever possible. If we receive a very large number of entries in a particular category we will ensure that all entries are scored by the same pool of judges.

10. The person submitting the entry takes full responsibility for ensuring that all information provided is correct, accurate and presented clearly so as not to be misleading.

a. If it becomes apparent that an entrant has submitted incorrect or inaccurate information, or deliberately misled the judges, the entry will be disqualified.

b. In the event that this becomes apparent after the award has been presented, the award will be revoked and re-presented to the second highest-scoring entry in that category.

11. The person submitting the entry takes full responsibility for gaining permission to do so from all contributors to the project, including representatives of their own organisation and collaborating organisations.

a. In the case of a collaborative entry, the person submitting the entry takes full responsibility for ensuring the list of collaborating organisations is correct and complete.

12. Entrants seeking feedback on their entries may contact the PRI after the announcement of the winners. We will be happy to share your own scorecard, and any comments made by the judges, with you. We cannot share the scorecards of other entrants.